Collaborations, Proudly Christian

God and Fashion?

shopping

Confused!

That’s the reaction many Christian women have when it comes to fashion and God. It’s all about your heart, right? Who cares if your outfit is 12 years outdated and full of holes; as long as you have a servant’s heart, it’s all good.

Although we know God wants us to focus on our character rather than on our outward appearance, we also need to remember that we are His representatives — His ambassadors to the world (2 Corinthians 5:20). And I don’t think God wants a shabby, disheveled person as His representative. Would you?

When you represent a company, you typically dress in a business suit. You are careful that the material is ironed, that your hair is neat and in place, and that your shoes don’t have holes in them. Meeting with a client in holey jeans, a baggy t-shirt, and a bad case of bed head probably wouldn’t win you points with the boss.
Similarly, God wants His ambassadors to reflect Him. Our God is not the frumpy, dull, or ugly type; He is a God of beauty.

In Exodus, God was very particular about the quality and cleanliness of the priest’s garments (Exodus 28:2, 3). He also instructed the Israelites to build the tabernacle, with beautiful embellishments, precious metals, and intricate carvings (Exodus 26). In Proverbs 31, we read about the woman of noble character who is not only clothed in “strength and dignity,” but her clothes are “well-made and elegant” as well (25, 22).

As His daughters, we should be neat and well-dressed. This doesn’t mean we have to be decked out in the latest White House Black Market garb every time we exit our house, but we should look put-together.

The key to honouring God with our clothing is balance. In our pursuit of being a fashionable representative, we need to ask ourselves:

Am I spending more time shopping than serving God?

Does shopping time take priority over my family time?

Am I spending more money on clothes than what I’m giving to God’s work?

Am I being financially responsible?

1 Timothy 2:9 speaks against costly clothes meant to impress others or feed our ego.

Six Practical Ideas for Frugal Fashion

mmw-frugal-mind

1. Set a Budget and Stick to It

This might mean withdrawing cash ahead of time and not whipping out your credit card. Many times, I’ve impulsively tried on a dress and said, “I like how it fits and it’s on sale. I have to buy it!” Resist this temptation by sticking to a budget. Also, don’t be fooled by the word “sale.” Check the prices at other stores (or use common sense). Some stores actually raise their prices before putting items on sale.

2. Digitize Your Shopping List

Before you head to the mall — or go on a virtual shopping safari — make a list of what you need. This helps keep your mind and your wallet focused. If you complete your “need” purchases, and have leftover cash, then you’re free to raid the clearance racks or shop for some of your “wants.” Not only will your list keep your shopping trips on course, but you can reference your “needs” list whenever you see a sale at a store. Who knows, you may refer to your list and find that, not only are camisoles 50% off at one store but, according to your list, you actually need a new white camisole.

3.  Choose Fashions that Last

I confess, I’ve been guilty of purchasing certain items that had a very short closet life. I learned the hard way that they call certain pieces — like your little black dress — “classics” for a reason. Classics stay classy for a long time. Invest in good fad-proof clothing instead of putting money down on fleeting trends.

4. Shop off Season

If you would like a new winter wardrobe, wait until the end-of-winter sale to stock up on new sweaters. That’s when you’ll find the best deals both in-store and online. Outlet malls are especially good places for end-of-season sales. If I need seasonal clothes, I try to shop ahead for the next year. For example, I shop for swimsuits when summer ends, store my purchase in my closet, and bring it out the following year.

5. Shop Online Clearance

The great thing about shopping online is that you can shop whenever you have free time and don’t have to worry about traffic, parking, or crowds. To top it off, they deliver to your door and, in many cases, the shipping is free.

I generally only order online if I’m comfortable with the brand and know my size at that store. If you just guess your size, there is a risk that the item won’t fit. So find out if there is a store location nearby where you can return the piece if necessary. Shipping returns back to the company may be pricey; so if there is no store nearby and you are unsure of your size, you may want to reconsider ordering.

6. Hunt for a Good Thrift Store or Download an App 

Thrift store shopping require a lot of patience. It takes time to look through the racks and find quality merchandise. You might have to try several stores before you find one that you like. Apps such as Depop and Vinted can help you find communities of buyers and sellers. So you can even make extra cash in the process.

7. Save and Spend gift cards

Whenever I get gift cards, I don’t rush to the mall and spend. I save , and spend them during the sales or at Christmas. This way, I get more value and don’t have to spend cash on fashion and style.

Christians CAN be fashionable — as long as they go about it in a balanced way.

Post by Felicia Alvarez with additions by Kingdom Child.

2 thoughts on “God and Fashion?”

  1. This is a lovely post. There’s a lot to chew on when it comes to the subject of heart and fashion, etc. Personally, I always wear my nicest clothes to church. It’s part of my upbringing, I think, though I went through my hippie-ish days (I’m dating myself here). But I like to think of putting my best foot forward for the Lord. Does that make me a clean vessel? ABSOLUTELY NOT! God is far more concerned with my heart than my garb, so if I don’t get that right, then the packaging doesn’t matter. Scripture also talks about not adorning ourselves with fancy jewelry (gold braids–whatever–no time to look it up). The point is that in Paul’s day those women cared about such elaborate finery that it was distracting to other worshipers. There is a balance. And what of modesty? That’s a whole other issue. But modesty doesn’t mean frumpy. The one place I would disagree is with regards gift cards. I. HATE. GIFT. CARDS. I realize you are talking about receiving them, and not necessarily giving them. I find them annoying. For one thing, depending on the card, if you wait too long to use it, it may have expired. One must read the fine print. Gifts cards are not the same thing as a tangible gift. If people mean to give money, fine–then give money. (My mother gives me cash, and I really appreciate it). This way the receiver can go out and buy whatever she wants (which is the intent of the gift-card giver), but without being bound by the restrictions of the card, including the store. The receiver will not necessarily want a gift from that particular store. And if whatever you purchase is not the full amount of the card, then you are bound to go back to that store and spend more of your own money to make up the difference of the next thing that you buy. Gift cards are always weighted in favor of the store. Many people lose their gift cards, and then stores have completely won. And if one gives cash or a check, perhaps the recipient would rather invest the money or put it in the bank to earn interest. Enough pontificating from me!! Neat article though. I appreciated reading it.

    Like

Leave a Reply

