Life, Proudly Christian

Simple, Yet Abundant

 

img_5646

‘I am not saying this because I am in need, for I have learned to be content whatever the circumstances. I know what it is to be in need, and I know what it is to have plenty. I have learned the secret of being content in any and every situation, whether well fed or hungry, whether living in plenty or in want. I can do everything through him who gives me strength.’ (Philippians 4:11-13)

The minimalist lifestyle is living simply, yet abundantly. It challenges you to look beyond the material, as worry and anxiety come to play when we set our minds on what we desire, while neglecting the things we do have.

I opted for the minimal lifestyle about three years ago and since then I haven’t looked back plus its improved my life so much.

It’s inward living that constantly declutters.

A wise man once said if you have food on your table, a roof over your head and a few good friends, you are richer than you think.

I find it’s now easier to do the things I’ve always wanted to do because I have less to bother about.

I discovered my life is free of competition and envy because I know what’s good for me and I can be genuinely happy for others.

I realise I can devote myself to personal growth, getting fit, catching up with my wonderful friends and so many other things that profit.

Don’t get me wrong, I do not discredit wealth and riches, they are essential, but the minimalist lifestyle is based on needs and not wants.

It guarantees freedom and well being, constantly lacking in several hearts.

It’s valuing space, fresh air and peace.

It’s about learning to declutter and the entrance of a fresh breath of air.

It’s not necessarily living on a budget, but perhaps financial organisation.

Its about learning to give back – to those who need a helping hand.

Most important, it’s about falling in love with yourself and for once, doing yourself some good.

Say NO to a complicated lifestyle.

Leave a Reply

